Services
4.0 star rating 11/19/2014

The River Bend Motel was great. It's situated in a really nice locale if you're interested in exploring the beautiful John Day River area and checking out the Palisade Cliffs, Painted Hills, etc.

Our room was cute, tidy and extremely clean. It came equipped with comfy beds, a nice-sized fridge, microwave, coffee maker, water cooler and free Wi-Fi access. There was even a fancy-schmancy heating unit with digital interface and a TV and DVD, which was a nice touch. We were extremely comfortable over our three-day stay.

When we had to leave unexpectedly for an emergency (cutting our pre-paid visit short by one day) the owners even refunded us a full day, a courtesy which they were not obligated to offer (and which we didn't expect or ask for), but which we greatly appreciated.

There is a grocery store conveniently located up the street along with the Riverbend Bar & Grill, whose friendly staff serves up yummy, home-cooked comfort food. Their hearty breakfasts include good, old-fashioned biscuits and gravy---the perfect indulgence for a lazy weekend morning. (Not a dish that's ideal for the wheat-grass, clean-livin' folks, but you are *missing out* if you don't try them).

We'll be back!

Richele K. - Seattle, WA
 

5.0 star rating 9/2/2014

“Helpful family style stayover”

We stayed over here while visiting family. (They probably would have put us up, but we thought we wouldn't be a hassle to anybody.) The owners were very pleasant and very accommodating. We ended up staying in the house next to the hotel. It was very roomy and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

We checked out early the next morning, and it was just a quick call to the owners from the office phone before they even arrived and we were set to go.

Room Tip: We were in the house which had a full kitchen including some pots and pans. We could have made a br... See more room tips

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family

Chris Z. K. - Portland, OR
 

4.0 star rating 5/14/2014

Spray is a small central Oregon town. Hunters and fishermen frequent the place. The River Bend is the only place to stay in town. My wife and I have stayed at the motel every year since it opened.

The room we usually occupy has a queen sized bed along with a double bed. The decor is knotty pine with hard wood floors. The rooms are decorated with a western theme. Cowboy lamps, western art on the walls. Each room has a microwave and refrigerator with full sized coffee pop. The motel provides coffee filters with coffee in them. There is satellite TV with lots of channels and fast wifi. The rooms also come stocked with paper towels, cups, plasticware with paper plates and bowls. The bathroom has a liquid soap dispenser over the sink. The shower has a dispenser with shampoo, shower gel and creme rinse. No messing around with cubes of small bar soap. If you arrive and no-one is in the office no problem. They leave your room open. It's a great, quiet place to stay in the middle of nowhere. One thing though. There are no restaurants in Spray just a small convenience store across the street from the motel. Best to bring food with you.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is next to the office. Any room after #2 is good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple

Mr. Motaman - Portland, OR

 

4.0 star rating 6/25/2012

I gave this motel four stars not because of its intrinsic quality, but relative quality. The rooms were clean, attractive to the cabin-style aficionado, and everything worked. Standard appliances were all there, and there was even satellite TV. The beds were comfy and Spray is very quiet, so I got great sleep. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

We met another couple there who just go to get away from the city. The motel and its environs are a welcome break and they just sit and relax, and maybe walk the dog now and then. The River Bend Motel is so different from most motels I've been in, where you just hope you can get most of a night's sleep.

Tom S.--Woodinville, WA

 

4.0 star rating 9/17/2010

A motel in Spray, OR? I thought we might be better off camping. Turns out we spent a very cozy and comfortable time there and didn't want to leave!

Our room in the outdoor-themed motel had elk everywhere, except the salmon shower curtain hangers. I have to admit I'm a little soft for places like this, as they remind me of visiting various cabins when I was a kid. The thing is that they're never clean. Part of the charm, I always tell myself.

Well this place was spotless. Not a bunny under the bed, not a wrinkle on a sheet. Microwave and fridge are provided, as are water cooler/heater, microwave popcorn, plates and plasticware, and in-room coffee. The front porch looks out on the main street, which on a weekday in September had a car pass by every few minutes. About half of the drivers looked over and waved, and one honked, leaned over, and waved.

It was fully booked the night we were there and is probably very hard to get into during hunting or steelhead season.

I hope to be back in the spring.

Todd V. - Portland, OR

 

4.0 star rating 6/17/2011

This place is as cute as a button.

Spray is just over the halfway mark when I'm driving to my hometown. You know right about the time when I haven't seen a coffee shop that's open in a long time, more tumbleweeds and wind turbines than people, and the deer are starting to play chicken with my vehicle. I'm pretty stoked to now know I have a relatively cheap and extremely comfortable place to lay my head if I decide to stop.

Last weekend we passed through with a group on a cycling trip and we got to stay in one of the bungalows. We stayed in the wolf themed bungalow. Again, cute as a freaking button. A really nice comfortable bed was perfect for my sore body after a day of riding. We had some friends at the motel and others in the other bungalow and in the retreat house, so we pretty much had the run of the place. Our bungalow had a bathroom, coffee machine, refrigerator, microwave, A/C, water cooler, television and some more wolf decorations than I have ever seen accumulated in one place until now. My only complaint was housekeeping forgot to pull the used coffee filter from the previous visitors. Not a big deal as everything else was very clean. We paid group rates, but per the website, the bungalow runs $80 per night. The motel rooms run $70 per night and peeking inside our friend's room, it appeared to be similar.

What I would really recommend is renting the retreat house. It sleeps 6, has a full kitchen, washer and dryer and a wonderful deck with a grill and a sweeping view of the John Day River. $180 per the website. Bring your friends. Bring your family. Heck, bring me, I'll gladly visit here again.

Jessica K. - Portland, OR